What are Chakras?

Posted by Tranquil Wellbeing on

Chakras are energy centers that affect mind, body, and soul wellbeing. There are around 114 chakras throughout the body. Today, we’ll explore the seven main chakras that run from the base of the spine to the crown of the head. These chakras typically form at meridian intersections. Chakra or cakras, is Sanskrit for “wheel” or “disk”. When our chakras are clear and aligned, energy can flow freely.

The 7 Chakras

There are 7 main chakras. Below, we’ve listed each chakra name in English and Sanskrit, the location, governing principle and corresponding color. 

Root chakra | Muladhara | Base of the spine | Security | Red

Sacral chakra | Svadhisthana | Below belly button | Creativity and sexuality | Orange 

Solar plexus chakra | Manipura | Stomach | Self-esteem and confidence | Yellow

Heart chakra | Anahata | Center of your chest | Love and relationships | Green

Throat chakra | Vishuddha | Throat | Communication and self-expression | Blue

Third eye chakra | Ajna | Between the eyes | Intuition and imagination | Indigo

Crown chakra | Sahasrara | Top of your heat | Spirituality and purpose | Violet or White


    Root Chakra

    Sacral Chakra

    Solar Plexus Chakra

    Heart Chakra 

    Throat Chakra 

    Third Eye Chakra 

    Crown Chakra

    To help balance your chakras, consider placing daily reminders around your life. Wear a single or trio of chakra bracelets on your wrist, keep chakra stones in your bag, burn rose petal wrapped chakra sage, place a mini chakra tree on your desk and a large chakra tree next to your bed, and hang up a beautiful chakra tapestry in your living space. Next week, we'll dive deeper into how to balance and unblock the chakras.

    For a more in-depth discussion into each specific chakra, check out The 7 Chakras: Root & Sacral Chakra, The 7 Chakras: Solar Plexus & Heart, and The 7 Chakras: Throat, Third Eye and Crown.

    Next week, we’ll dive deeper into how to balance the chakras.

    For more information, inspiration, or impactful practices, visit us at tranquilwellbeing.com or on our social channels @tranquilwb

    ← Older Post Newer Post →

    Weekly Inspiration


    Crystals for Empaths: A Guide to Emotional Wellbeing

    By Tranquil Wellbeing

    Empaths, individuals with a heightened sensitivity to the emotions of others, often find themselves navigating a world filled with intense energies. The emotional rollercoaster that...

    Read more

    Harnessing the Healing Power of Amethyst Clusters for Energy Protection

    By Tranquil Wellbeing

    In the world of crystals, few stones are as revered and celebrated as amethyst. With its captivating violet hue and powerful energy, amethyst has long...

    Read more