How to Balance your Chakras for Beginners

Posted by Tranquil Wellbeing on

Chakras are energy centers that intersect at meridians starting from the base of the spine to the crown of the head. The 7 main chakras are root, sacral, solar plexus, heart, throat, third eye and crown chakra. When our chakras become unbalanced or blocked, we may feel ungrounded, unmotivated, and unable to fully love. It may be difficult to speak our truth, listen to our intuition or tap into our inspiration and creativity. If you’re curious to learn more, check out last week’s article, What are Chakras.

Balancing the Chakras

Root Chakra

The root chakra is the foundation and base for the rest of the chakras
Balance with:
Meditation on the color red
Strong, stable standing yoga postures such as warrior I and II
Grounding practices such as walking barefoot in nature
Organize your space so you feel safe and supported — Consider burning chakra sage and palo santo to create a space of intention
Wear your 7 Chakra Bracelet as a reminder to prioritize your needs

Sacral Chakra

The sacral chakra is the seat of self-expression, creativity and sexuality.
Balance with:
Hip opening yoga postures such as pigeon or reclined figure 4
Meditation focused on the sacral chakra holding chakra stones
5 minute creativity challenge —> Express yourself creatively by journaling and painting
Place a 7 Chakra Crystal Mini Tree in a space where you wish to grow your creativity, abundance, and personal growth and see your desires, dreams and goals flourish

Solar Plexus Chakra

The solar plexus is our digestion powerhouse and source of gut instinct
Balance with:
Breath of fire or Kapalabhati breath
Core work in front of your Chakra Roots Tapestry
Affirmations: I am enough, I am worthy, I am loved

Heart Chakra

The heart chakra is the space of love, friendships and connection
Balance with:
Focus on your postures when walking, sitting or working — Roll your shoulders down and keep your heart open
Donate or volunteer your time or services — Give love to receive love
Burn sage for love cleansing the past and inviting in new energy into your relationships
Place a Rose Quartz Tree in your bedroom or living room as a reminder to open your heart and invite love into your life

Throat Chakra

The throat chakra governs expression and communication
Balance with: 
Sing to yourself and chant mantra
Play a singing bowl and allow the sound to resonate within your body; focus your attention on your third eye
Ujjayi breath or “ocean’s breath”
Be mindful of your communication with yourself and those around you

Third Eye Chakra

The third eye sees beyond the visual; connecting you to your highest vision, intuition and psychic ability
Balance with:
Meditation on self
Journaling your thoughts and analyze your dreams which are a vehicle of expression for your subconscious
Play a singing bowl and allow the sound to resonate within your body; focus your attention on your third eye
Burn sage for healing to help release stagnant energy and blockages

Crown Chakra

The crown chakra connects us to the spiritual realm and higher consciousness
Balance with:
Visualization and meditation
Notice your connection with the world around you and ask introspective questions
Decorate your space with clear quartz which is a master crystal capable of amplifying healing and positivity
Appreciate the little things in life and cultivate gratitude
Volunteer and be of service to the world around you
By aligning and harmonizing your chakras, you’ll be able to tap into your own inner wisdom and create blessings all throughout your life. For a more in-depth discussion into each specific chakra, check out The 7 Chakras: Root & Sacral Chakra, The 7 Chakras: Solar Plexus & Heart, and The 7 Chakras: Throat, Third Eye and Crown.


For more information, inspiration, or impactful practices, visit us at or on our social channels @tranquilwb


← Older Post Newer Post →

Weekly Inspiration


Crystals for Empaths: A Guide to Emotional Wellbeing

By Tranquil Wellbeing

Empaths, individuals with a heightened sensitivity to the emotions of others, often find themselves navigating a world filled with intense energies. The emotional rollercoaster that...

Read more

Harnessing the Healing Power of Amethyst Clusters for Energy Protection

By Tranquil Wellbeing

In the world of crystals, few stones are as revered and celebrated as amethyst. With its captivating violet hue and powerful energy, amethyst has long...

Read more