A Beginner's Guide to Balancing Your Chakras with Sage and Crystals

Posted by Tranquil Wellbeing on

The ancient practice of balancing the chakras has been around for thousands of years. It involves the use of various techniques, such as meditation, yoga, and aromatherapy, to promote physical, emotional, and spiritual well-being. In recent years, the use of sage and crystals to balance the chakras has become increasingly popular. In this article, we will explore how to use sage and crystals to balance each of the seven chakras.

Understanding the Seven Chakras

The seven chakras are energy centers that are located along the spine. Each chakra is associated with a specific color, location, and function. The seven chakras are as follows:

  1. Root Chakra (Red): Located at the base of the spine, the root chakra is associated with our sense of safety and security.

  2. Sacral Chakra (Orange): Located just below the navel, the sacral chakra is associated with our creativity and sexuality.

  3. Solar Plexus Chakra (Yellow): Located in the upper abdomen, the solar plexus chakra is associated with our personal power and self-esteem.

  4. Heart Chakra (Green): Located in the center of the chest, the heart chakra is associated with our ability to give and receive love.

  5. Throat Chakra (Blue): Located in the throat, the throat chakra is associated with our ability to communicate effectively.

  6. Third Eye Chakra (Indigo): Located in the center of the forehead, the third eye chakra is associated with our intuition and psychic abilities.

  7. Crown Chakra (Violet): Located at the top of the head, the crown chakra is associated with our connection to the divine.

Using Sage to Cleanse and Purify

Sage has been used for centuries in various cultures as a way to cleanse and purify spaces. It is also believed to have the ability to cleanse the aura and chakras. Burning sage is known as smudging, and it is a simple and effective way to cleanse and purify.

To smudge, you will need a bundle of dried sage, a heat-proof dish, and a lighter. Light the sage and allow it to burn for a few seconds before blowing out the flame. Hold the sage over the dish and allow the smoke to waft over your body. Visualize the smoke cleansing and purifying your aura and chakras.

Using Crystals to Balance Each Chakra

Crystals are believed to have their own unique vibration, and they can be used to balance and align the chakras. Here are some crystals that correspond to each of the seven chakras:

  1. Root Chakra: Red Jasper or Hematite
  2. Sacral Chakra: Carnelian or Orange Calcite
  3. Solar Plexus Chakra: Citrine or Yellow Jasper
  4. Heart Chakra: Rose Quartz or Green Aventurine
  5. Throat Chakra: Blue Lace Agate or Sodalite
  6. Third Eye Chakra: Amethyst or Lapis Lazuli
  7. Crown Chakra: Clear Quartz or Amethyst

To use crystals to balance the chakras, you can place them on the corresponding chakra during meditation or carry them with you throughout the day.

Techniques for Balancing Your Chakras with Sage and Crystals

Here are some steps you can follow to balance your chakras with sage and crystals:

    1. Set your intention: Before starting, set an intention for what you want to achieve from this practice.

    2. Smudge yourself and your space: Use the smudging technique described above to cleanse and purify yourself and your space.

    3. Choose your crystals: Select the crystals that correspond to the chakras you want to balance. Hold them in your hands and set your intention for each one.
    4. Place the crystals: Lie down or sit in a comfortable position and place the crystals on the corresponding chakras. You can also hold the crystals in your hands.
    5. Meditate: Close your eyes and focus on your breath. Visualize the energy flowing through each chakra, starting at the root and moving up to the crown. Visualize the crystals helping to balance and align each chakra.
    6. Stay with the practice: Stay in this meditative state for as long as you feel comfortable. You may feel some sensations or emotions during this practice, which is normal. Allow yourself to experience them without judgment.
    7. End the practice: When you feel ready, take a few deep breaths and slowly open your eyes. Thank the crystals and sage for their help in balancing your chakras.

Additional Tips and Tricks

  • Experiment with different types of sage and crystals to find what works best for you.
  • Make sure to cleanse and recharge your crystals regularly.
  • Consider incorporating other chakra-balancing practices, such as yoga or sound therapy, into your routine.


Balancing your chakras with sage and crystals can be a powerful way to promote physical, emotional, and spiritual well-being. By understanding the seven chakras, using sage to cleanse and purify, and incorporating crystals into your practice, you can start exploring this ancient technique. Remember to set your intention, stay open to the experience, and practice regularly for the best results.

← Older Post Newer Post →

Weekly Inspiration


Crystals for Empaths: A Guide to Emotional Wellbeing

By Tranquil Wellbeing

Empaths, individuals with a heightened sensitivity to the emotions of others, often find themselves navigating a world filled with intense energies. The emotional rollercoaster that...

Read more

Harnessing the Healing Power of Amethyst Clusters for Energy Protection

By Tranquil Wellbeing

In the world of crystals, few stones are as revered and celebrated as amethyst. With its captivating violet hue and powerful energy, amethyst has long...

Read more